Fall of Giants

[CC BY 2.0, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/legalcode]

(It’s impossible to tell from what I managed to get out in 10 minutes, but this actually does relate to the prompt. I think this is one that will take some more of my time in the future. I love it when that happens with a prompt. Even if it doesn’t, I’m inordinately pleased with this bit of dialogue.)

“It happened again.”

“Really?”

“Yeah. Two of ’em. Along the south ridge.”

“Well, shit.” Danny ran his kerchief over his face and sat on the stump he used as a chopping block. He looked quizzically at his younger sister, Rachel. “Does Dad know?”

“Not yet. I haven’t been in to see him yet today.” Rachel bit at the inside of her cheek, a nervous habit dating back to childhood.

“Let me tell him, okay?” Danny stood and hefted the ax again.

“I don’t mind.”

“I know. But you shouldn’t have to deal with him every time. It’s my turn.”

“I’m not gonna fight you on that,” she said with a sour smile. “Can I tell Mom when you’ll be in?”

Danny looked at the stack of logs and gauged the ache in his arms and back. “I’ve got another hour of this in me. Then I’ll come in to clean up. We can all go into town for dinner. My treat. It’s too hot to cook.”

“It’s too hot for you to be breaking your back out here.” Rachel climbed onto the cracked seat of the four-wheeler. “Be careful, Danny.”

“I will. See you in a bit.”

*7/14/17 prompt: Fall of Giants

Leave a Reply

