Family

paper heartsBeep. Beep. Whirrrr.

Beep. Beep. Whirrrr.

The machines keeping her alive provide a lovely, calming background to my preparations. She radiates beauty, her pale skin and russet curls stunning under the crisp, white sheet. She reminds me of fall leaves and bone china.

I must focus on my work, though. I will have her with me soon enough. Our family growing one step closer to complete.

Beep. Beep. Whirrrr.

Crepe ribbon stretches around the window frames and across the blank canvas of the dining hall walls. I hoped to turn med-bay gloves into balloons but time has turned them brittle and hard. Fortunately, the vault containing basic supplies kept its seal after the incident.

The scientists would be pleased to know their plans for keeping startup materials fresh over the multi-decade trip proved successful. I’m not sure that success would counter the other, more catastrophic failures, but it’s something. I’ll have to make note in the log.

Beep. Beep. Whirrrr.

Today, however, I have other priorities. I spent hours yesterday cutting office paper into hearts and stars to make our day more festive. As I secure them to the walls and the backs of the dining hall chairs, I hope she will like them.

Beep. Beep. Whirrrr.

From across the room, I watch the rise and fall of her swollen belly. I will wake her up soon and our family will be made official.

Life is good.

Beep. Beep. Whirrrr.

*7/1/17 Speed Writing prompt: “rebirth, stasis, lust”

Leave a Reply

