2016 Gratitude 2: Flexible Routine

I had LASIK surgery on October 18th after thinking about it for 15 years. My right eye is struggling to clear up, something I wasn’t expecting. I thought I would be resting on the couch for a couple of days and than back to my regular routine, sans glasses. Instead, it’s been two weeks of limitations: driving only in familiar places during daylight hours, minimal reading and computer use, an inability to read facial expressions from more than a couple feet away, and so on.

I’m sure everyone who knows me will be completely shocked to hear that I am not a fan of limitations.

At the one week check-up, the doctor who performed the surgery confirmed that both eyes are healing properly and everything looks exactly as it should. “20/20!” he proclaimed. After hearing that everything is blurry through the right eye, he did some more tests to eliminate any potential concerns and prescribed patience. “Sometimes it can take up to a month for things to heal completely.”

Again, I’m sure it will be news to all my loved ones that patience isn’t something I have in abundance.

Regardless of my preferences, the Universe sends me lessons according to its own schedule, which rarely has anything to do with my plans. Today’s gratitude is for the flexibility of my current routine and everything that has led me to this point. I am able to take the time to heal. I have only myself standing in the way of practicing patience.

Gratitude Song List: Jackson Browne’s Doctor My Eyes and the Rolling Stones’ Time Is On My Side

Leave a Reply

